Recent Posts



Team Missouri Selected for Special Olympics 2014 USA Games

Every four years, Special Olympics conducts a National Summer Games in the United States that includes athletes from all 52 US Programs.  New Jersey is proud to have been selected as host of the 2014 Special Olympics USA Games, the Games of Welcome and Acceptance.

logos galoreThe 2014 Special Olympics USA Games will showcase athletes competing in 14 official and 3 demonstration sports.  Competitions will be offered in both traditional and Unified play, bringing together the community to support and play side-by-side with our athletes, in what expects to be the most inclusive Games in Special Olympics History.

While the Games will highlight competition, special events including Opening and Closing Ceremonies, athlete events and educational programs throughout the week, will create an experience of a lifetime for all athletes, families and volunteers in attendance … leading to a change in understanding and acceptance of persons with intellectual disabilities in communities throughout New Jersey and throughout the United States.

WHO:  3,500 athletes from all 50 states 10,000 volunteers coaches and official delegates family members and friends of athletes spectators


AQUATICS:  Kirstin Carlson, Jennifer Neihouse, Elizabeth Waddell, Cody Anderson, Nathan Baldwin, Logan Hulett, Terri Hilt-Coach, Amy Wurst-Coach and Trey Leigh-Coach

ATHLETICS:  Shelley Antle, Maria Arnett, Paige Hall, Jane Highland, Allen Tobin, Octavio Daviel Topete, Wes Whitten, Eric Wright, Genice Fisher-Coach, Julie Busken-Coach and Irvin Jones-Coach

Boys:  Patrick Andrews, Lucas Blattel, Daniel Fultz, Landon Hume, Tim Kunz, Wyatt Leonard, Eric Leslie, Paul Mize, Dalton Myers, Scott Wright, Robin Anderson-Coach, Michael Lowry-Coach and Stan Smith-Coach

Girls:  Aliyah Blue, Dominquie DeChant, LaShayla Gillespie, Dakota Perkins, Raquel Raney, Azalea Ray, Leslie Rojas, Makayla Slawter, Samantha Snow, Tabitha Wheeler, Amy Grace-Coach, Emily Reyes-Coach and Keith Patterson-Coach

BOCCE:  Melissa Buss, Morgan Coombe, Rebecca Tincknell, Matthew Cepeda, Pierce Rash, Lonnie Thornton, Jeanie Byland-Unified Partner, Courtney Patton-Unified Partner, Linda Tyler-Unified Partner, Scott Copeland-Unified Partner, Ron Deringer-Unified Partner, William Reese-Unified Partner, Alisha Glasgow-Coach, Kathy Lowry-Coach

BOWLING:  Lindsey Hawkins, Tanya Johnson, Tiffany Wright, Ryan Fant, Michael Lunceford, Chris Miller, Amanda Geno-Unified Partner and Cecil O’Neil II-Unified Partner, Berma WebbCoachMandi Steward-Coach

FLAG FOOTBALL:  Simon Caldwell, Gary Crossfield, Cody Curran, Joseph Hochard, Tanner Hrenchir, James Kindred, Nikollaus Nuernberger, Brandon Simmons, Matthew Waelterman, Jason Wilmesherr, Kaylee Schoenfelder-Coach, Chase Crane-Coach and Steve Wilmesherr-Coach

GOLF:  Tina Jones, Stephanie Litrell, Tere’e Trussell, Thomas Cleek, Nicholas McMullen, Chris Ringot, Jocelyn Diehl-Unified Partner and Jerry McMullen-Unified Partner, Ken Neff-Coach, Steven Wiederholt-Coach

POWERLIFTING:  Brianne Chavez, Darry McIntyre, Ed Blaylock-Coach and Linda Wiederholt-Coach

TENNIS:  Brittany Selken, Bobby Williams, Jeremie Ballinger-Unified Partner, Ashley Wurst-Unified Partner, Peggy Llewellyn-Neff-Coach, Linda Wiederholt-Coach

VOLLEYBALL: Jean Buersmeyer, Shaina Galloway, Dena Muskopf, Harry Besleme, Jason Boyd, Matthew Hood, Matthew Montgomery, Arthur Murphy, George Richardson, Kendall Scheidt, Larry Stephens, Jan Wood, Diane Brimer-Coach, Brittany Busken-Coach, and Curt Yaeger-Coach

STAFF: Susan Shaffer, Tim Schuster, Johnathon Hankinson, Gary Brimer, Renee Abbott, Brandon Schatseik and Rachel Antal